Run streak day #343

Leave a comment

March 20, 2016 by scratchtype1

A little over 10 miles, as in hearing the Garmin beep for 10 miles and then hit stop when it says 10.04. Of course, maybe it wasn’t a little over 10 miles. Maybe Garmin measured a bit long. It doesn’t matter too much.

The legs felt good. I was surprised, after having pretty crappy legs for that stretch of 10 days or so, and after having 2 pretty good feeling runs in a row the prior 2 days, I was kind of expecting crappy and tired legs today. I headed out the door thinking it would be okay to only do 2.5 miles and get 30 miles for the week.

Instead the legs had some snap to them and I just kept running and running.

23 more days and I’ll have gone around the calendar. When this began April 13 last year, there was no pledge or vow to do it. It was just nice weather that day and I felt like running after a day of not running. And it felt good after a 3 week stretch where I had been running not very much. Then I ran the next day and the next and so on.

A long long time ago now I remember my first long run. It measured about 5 miles. During this streak, I’ve averaged 5.5 miles a day. I tend to think of 5 miles as being a sign that I’m doing okay. If a run comes up short of 5 miles, it means something is going on maybe.

Being a member of the streak runners’ group on Facebook, I’ve had another sort of challenge float across my attention. 10 miles a day for 10 days straight. That would be pushing myself some, considering that I’ve only ever gone over 60 miles in a week once. Summer would be the best time to do it. I could run some miles in the morning before work and then make up the rest after work. The big worry about something like that is that it could be significantly more stress than what maybe my body could handle. I could break or hurt something and that’s never good.

I’m still bouncing the idea around of doing a marathon this year. Still can’t decide.

Leave a Reply

