November Running Review

Leave a comment

November 30, 2015 by scratchtype1

Only 133.3 miles in November, as I cut down on miles before running a half-marathon on November 22nd. That leaves me 213.3 miles shy of 2000 for the year and I don’t think I’ll go after that. If I were to do it, it would be my second highest monthly mileage ever and I’m not going to have as much time starting next week with a new job. So maybe it’s a good time to relax some and maybe give the body some time to consolidate, especially after so many miles and having had Lyme disease earlier in the year. And maybe the fact that I only saw a 1 minute and 44 second improvement in my half-marathon PR indicates that as well.

While my aerobic base got better and larger during the year, my top-end speed kind of disappeared with all those slow miles. And I didn’t have much of that to begin with. To explain some what I mean, I’m now at a strange level of fitness where I can basically to turn my legs over as fast as possible, but I don’t get winded or breathless. I can’t run fast enough to make me breathe very hard. I have a neuromuscular deficit.

So future training blocks will need to have speedwork. I read Matt Fitzgerald’s 80/20 Running last week and hope that this next year I can do what’s called polarized training. I want to keep running a good number of easy miles to maintain and maybe still improve my aerobic base, but also include more fast running. The really fast stuff. I think maybe Billat intervals might work well for me. Plus I’ve got an idea to create variation on the 30s-30s variation, by doing them on a long gradual uphill. Run 30s at vV02max up the hill, then drift back downhill and get turned around in time to run 30s again. Work up the hill that way. That might be really good if I’m where I’m at now, unable to run fast enough on the flats to get breathing all that hard.

The strangest run of last month was of course the one where a pickup truck grazed my right thumb tip and broke it. Other than that, it was a good run. I had legs that felt springy and fast almost, which has been a rare feeling ever since Lyme disease. If I had had those legs on half-marathon day, I’m thinking maybe I could have run 8:40 pace.

The best run was the half-marathon. It wasn’t nearly as fast as I had been envisioning early in the year, but I ran it well and I do think the aerobic miles made a big difference during the last 4.1 miles. I ran those last 4.1 miles in 35:42. In 2014, it was 37:01. So almost 20 seconds per mile faster. So I was able to drop the hammer and finish pretty strong, except for the cramping issues.

I still believe I’ve got room for improvement. And hope that Lyme disease didn’t take some sort of permanent bite out of me. Right now, I mostly lean towards doing the half again next year, although there is some temptation to maybe go for a full marathon. I kind of want to register for the marathon as a member of Team JDRF and get that shirt. They were kind enough to give me a singlet as thanks for raising money for them, but I definitely would like to get one of the long-sleeve tech shirts, some day. Maybe next year. Maybe 2017. Don’t know exactly yet.

Finally, I’m debating whether or not to purchase a photo of me that I found in the lost and found bin at the race photographer’s website. It looks like the picture might be pretty good, as best as one can tell with how they blur those things. But it ain’t cheap either at almost 30 bucks.

 

Leave a Reply

