Run Streak Day 110 and July Review

Leave a comment

July 31, 2015 by scratchtype1

The month started off without much enthusiasm. I had been slowing down more and more, and strongly suspected it was more than the heat. So I went to the doctor again because I wasn’t feeling better after the first 3-week course of antibiotics for probably Lyme disease from a tick bite. At that appointment, the doctor agreed that my symptoms indicated something wasn’t right, so I was sent for bloodwork to test for Lyme and other possible conditions that can make a person feel overly fatigued. The western blot for Lyme was a bullseye, I tested strongly positive for a number of antibodies.

Although that doesn’t necessarily mean that I had an active infection. The body can continue to produce antibodies for some time after an encounter and eradication of the bacteria. That’s why my doctor also talked about the possibility of post Lyme syndrome, where some people can feel lots of fatigue and other Lyme-like symptoms for weeks or even months after an infection. There is some evidence that post Lyme syndrome might be autoimmune in nature, so because I’m a type 1 diabetic, that might me I’m at higher risk for such a problem, as often those with autoimmune diseases are more susceptible to other autoimmune diseases, like Celiac’s, Hashimoto’s, lupus, etc.

But since the western blot was positive, I was given a second 3-week course of antibiotics and I finished that 2 days ago. I am feeling better than I was at the beginning of the month. I don’t need to sleep nearly so much and this week, the legs are beginning to feel more like they did earlier in the year. For a good time now, I had to grind out the miles pretty much. And my paces deteriorated more and more. But beginning about a week and a half ago, the pace deterioration began to reverse itself, and I’ve begun to feel some springiness returning to the legs.

This morning was a good sign. It’s been a long long time since I’ve had a run where I go out and thinking maybe only 2 or 3 and it turns into something substantially more. This run was also strange because I didn’t feel all that good to start. In the first half-mile I was strongly thinking maybe only 2 miles. But then it just kept getting better. The pace quickened some, even despite the fact I had started late, the sun was high and a lot of humidity was in the air. It became a good run and I ran a little over 7 miles.

So maybe, maybe, the corner has been turned. And considering things, July turned into a very impressive month. Since my running streak reached 110 days today, of course that means I ran every day, and in total I ran 182.6 miles this month, my 3rd highest month ever behind December 2014 and June 2014. I’ve now got 45 straight weeks with at least 20 miles and I’ve got a 9 week 30+ mile streak going. I went up over 1000 miles for the year and over 5000 lifetime. I’m now currently on pace to run more than 1800 miles.

I still haven’t done a long run in a while now. Currently, I only label runs of 10 miles or more as long runs. The last one was back on May 31st. But I feel pretty sure that there should be one coming soon. For a long while, I was basically confined to grinding out a range of miles, usually between 2 to 7 miles, depending. While maybe it wasn’t ideal, at least I was running and perhaps even making aerobic gains although those gains were masked by both the hotter weather of July and the effect of Lyme.

But I feel good now that if I can stay healthy and keeping putting up 150 miles or more a month, I should be ready to run an even better half-marathon than last year.

Leave a Reply

