Three to See #1

2

November 25, 2014 by scratchtype1

This is the first installment of blogposts that will be the Three to Sees. I’m a voracious reader, I love when I learn something from reading, and you know what? Oftentimes I read something that I find to be noteworthy, intelligent, or fascinating at some level. Sometimes I feel incapable or almost unworthy to make comment, but I will also note that the blog I have read from has very few comments as it is and I think they deserve more. Maybe I’m not capable of intelligent commentary, but others might be. Now my blog only has 50 followers or so, and I don’t know how many of those might be somewhat active, diligent or persistent followers, but maybe some of them will find things that I think are interesting, are also interesting to themselves. And maybe they’ll have good comments. Or maybe even if only to like a post there, just to let that blogger know that their words are not evaporating in the ether.

So today I’ll give you these three:

Marathon. Done.” — She ran the marathon in Philadelphia and got her BQ time. But don’t just read that one post, take some time to read some others. She’s not just a runner, but she writes as well.

Losing myself on trails so I can find myself again” — How do we identify ourselves? That’s what this post made me think some more about today. I think for a lot us our lives are about the narratives we tell to our own selves, no matter how accurate or inaccurate they might be. But that’s why running and storytelling intertwine, because when we run, we also are telling a story.

Melbourne Marathon, October 2014” — I’ve picked this one because the blogger wrote something that helped to sustain me through my half-marathon PR on Sunday. She wrote:

So I turn to him and say “That’s fine, it’s not meant to feel easy, you’re fine” – and I go on to explain my own personal theory of running at “the pointy end” of one’s abilities, which is that the pace will inevitably feel tough from very early in the race. It’s important to understand this, to be ready for it and also to know that the pace – if it’s what you’ve trained for – will be sustainable. Doubting yourself is not going to help; there’s a saying among marathoners “Trust the training”, and nowhere is it more applicable than right here.

I’d guess maybe it was during mile 4 or 5 that I began to be aware that I was running in a way that would be hurting some as the race continued. So I thought of that and with it, along with other thoughts, was able to sustain the pace that I needed to run a half-marathon in under 2 hours. Maybe I would have done it anyway without having read that in the weeks prior to Philadelphia, but I certainly thought of it while I ran on Sunday. Her blog is well worth reading.

Maybe this idea of mine will lead to nothing really. But maybe if at least it points a few people along the way to seeing some writing that they might not have otherwise seen, then maybe it’s a good thing. Part of being human is not just about the individual things we do or achieve, but that which can be shared among the community that we are, the knowledge that shapes us, the experiences that alter us. This is my paltry effort to add to that community.

2 thoughts on “Three to See #1

  1. ainsliechandler says:

    Thanks for the shout out. As you say, it’s nice to know the words aren’t just evaporating …

    • scratchtype1 says:

      Please forgive me for the egregious error of using “there words” instead of “their words.” I’ve fixed that, but ugh, it’s frustrating to find those little mistakes afterwards. But yeah, or no, or whichever is the correct way to put it, your words haven’t utterly evaporated into the ether.

      I thought around the periphery of that idea a lot while I ran on Sunday, about human communication and acknowledgement, maybe especially since I ran Sunday very much on my own. I was a member of a community of 30,000 runners and yet I almost wasn’t as well. Long ago, deep in the evolutionary past of our species, we had nothing like this. But we still have a deep urge to run and most of us a deep longing for community. While blogging has a way of creating community, it’s interesting to find posts by other running bloggers who write well or write about interesting ideas, but they don’t garner much attention.

      Some of that is because of the disconnected nature of this community. It’s not like a bar or gathering where people can be seen all together. So maybe it’s a good thing if more of those who blog sometimes put up posts to say, “Hey, take a look at what these people are saying.”

Leave a Reply

