omg

3

July 30, 2013 by scratchtype1

“oh my god.” I said it out loud a few times after I had slowed down to a walk and had probably just covered a mile running and barefoot. What had been those legs under me? Why did the legs and feet tingle? There’d been some times in the past when I had run in shoes that there was a feeling of lightness and I would come out of those runs feeling pretty good. But nothing like this, nothing at all. Those runs had been blinded by the shoes I wore. Today, this morning, this crisp and early morning, my feet had been open to the ground and we talked with each other.

You don’t know lightness until you’ve felt it while running barefoot. The world changes when you run without shoes. It’s alive, your feet are alive, there’s maybe some section of neurons in your brain that gets all excited and says, “Where you been? I’ve been waiting for you, waiting so long for you to put me in contact with the ground, tapping down around every two-thirds of a second.”

And all I could say in response was “oh my god.” It was disbelief. It was insanity. It was sweet and honey-like. It was all too brief, all too instantaneous and yet eternal, as beautiful as a moment where you kissed someone and felt something quick yet forever. Perhaps all those feelings are illusions our minds create to spur us on. I don’t have enough intelligence or knowledge to really know.

Is it how swallows feel when they fly, when they glide and dive, swoop and turn? They fly with such grace, do they get kissed by the wind and breezes? Do they know happiness in their quick gyres?

3 thoughts on “omg

  1. runninginnj says:

    I did my longest barefoot run yesterday covering 2 miles. Some of the terrain was pretty rough and my feet weren’t happy with me because of that, but on the whole it was great.

    • scratchtype1 says:

      Yeah, I’ve had some hikes done partially barefoot, rest in the Xeros, which by the end had my feet a little unhappy, so I can see that had I done my run this morning on some trail littered with rocks, I might not have been tempted to wax poetic.

      Good luck with your marathon training. Are you going to run Philly in the skirt? I tried looking online for a kilt, but the prices are way up there. Maybe someday I’ll have the guts to try a skirt, but I don’t know how much trust I can put in some of the good ol’boys who drive around these parts.

      • runninginnj says:

        I’m pretty sure I will wear a skirt for Philly. I did just buy a kilt from sportkilt – I had a discount code but it was still expensive. Will probably use this around town on hot days rather than running. Good luck with going barefoot – hopefully the feet get used to it more over time.

Leave a Reply

